International Air Transport Association
Netherlands Data Publications
Timatic Editing Team

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan

Important Notice on Visa Restrictions and Lifting of Entry Ban for Border Security Measures to Prevent the Spread of Novel Coronavirus

On 6 April 2022, the Government of Japan decided to relax some of border security measures against the spread of Novel Coronavirus infections by introducing following measures. The foregoing measures will be implemented from 0:00am (JST) on 8th April, 2022.

1. Lifting of entry ban

A number of countries have been removed from the list of entry ban pursuant to the aforementioned decision. As of 8th April, 2022, the list of designated areas subject to the entry ban is as follows. Those who stay in 56 countries/ region below within 14 days prior to the application for landing will continue to be denied to enter Japan.

Latin America and the Caribbean:

Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, Saint. Vincent and the Grenadines

Europe:

Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Estonia, Kyrgyz, Moldova, Russia, Slovakia, Ukraine

Middle East:

Afghanistan, Iraq, Lebanon, Palestine

Africa:

Algeria, Angora, Cameroon, Central Africa, Comoros, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Namibia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Please note that regardless of the entry ban, <u>foreign nationals who are acknowledged to have special exceptional circumstances by Japanese authorities may still enter Japan.</u> Those foreign nationals are supposed to hold a <u>visa under following categories such as "(D)</u> As Diplomat", "(O) As Official", "(S) As Spouse, Child of Japanese" and "(S) As Spouse of Permanent Resident"), <u>or a visa issued by Japanese overseas establishments on and after 2nd December, 2021. Note that "Special Permanent Resident" is not in the scope of the entry ban.</u>

2. <u>Already-implemented measures on suspension of visa validity will remain in place until further notice.</u>

The validity of <u>all categories of visas, except "(D) As Diplomat", "(O) As Official" and visas under categories such as "(S) As Spouse, Child of Japanese" and "(S) As Spouse of Permanent Resident", which were issued by Japanese overseas establishments in all countries/regions before 1st December 2021, <u>has been temporarily suspended</u>. Foreign nationals who may enter Japan need to possess a <u>visa issued by Japanese overseas establishments on and after 2nd December, 2021.</u></u>

3. <u>Already-implemented measures on suspension of visa exemption measures</u> below will remain in place until further notice.

Furthermore, 14 countries mentioned in red in the list below will be added. Please note that <u>all foreign nationals who newly enter Japan are required</u> to obtain visas before visiting Japan.

(a) List of countries/region suspended visa exemption measures

Asia:

Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

North America:

Canada, United State of America

Oceania:

Australia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Latin America and the Caribbean"

Argentine, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay

Europe:

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Vatican

Middle East:

Iran, Israel, Oman, Qatar, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Africa:

Lesotho, Mauritius, Morocco, Tunisia

(b) The effect of Pre-Clearances (i.e. visa exemptions) granted by the Japanese Government to APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) issued by the following countries and regions is also suspended;

Australia, Brunei, China, Chile, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

We would appreciate it very much if your team could notify all related airlines that they should inform all concerned passengers of those measures in order for them to avoid arriving in Japan without proper documents.

[End]